May 20, 2023 | 7:30 pm | Music Hall

No longer on sale


SAMUEL BARBER: Symphony No. 1 in One Movement
SAMUEL BARBER: Knoxville: Summer of 1915
ROBERT NATHANIEL DETT: The Ordering of Moses
AARON COPLAND: “The Promise of Living” from The Tender Land Suite


  • Marin Alsop, conductor
    Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha, soprano
  • Laquita Mitchell, soprano
  • Briana Hunter, mezzo-soprano
  • Rodrick Dixon, tenor
  • Nicholas Newton, bass

May Festival Chorus 

Robert Porco, director

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra 

Louis Langrée, music director


Music Hall

What's Interesting

Celebrated maestra Marin Alsop makes her May Festival debut with a showcase of composers who crafted the American musical identity. Samuel Barber's Knoxville: Summer of 1915 is a lyrical dream of the Tennessee summer, while Aaron Copland's "The Promise of Living" rings with the hope of prosperity. The "uncanny radiance" (The New Yorker) of Robert Nathaniel Dett's The Ordering of Moses— a work the Festival premiered in 1937—returns to Music Hall.

This concert is sponsored by Joan P. Baily in memory of Oliver L. Baily

View Digital Program


Pre-Concert Talk and More!

Matthew Swanson will host an engaging pre-concert talk at 6:30 pm in Corbett Tower, with soloist Rodrick Dixon and musicologist Jacques Dupuis.

After the concert, all guests will receive a box of opera creams from Graeter’s to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the May Festival.